Obstacles and Disappointments

Ok, so the cucumbers have bacterial wilt disease.  When I went to see if there was one or two ready for picking earlier this week I found two that had turned yellow and gone mushy.  I did a google on diseases and found this video that explains my vine’s symptoms. So sad and frustrating.  After all the excitement of watching the vine grow and nurturing it it’s all come to nothing.  I have now followed the recommended suggestion for spraying the vine with soapy water and bicarbonate of soda in the hope that I may still rescue some of the yet to mature cucumbers, but I’m not holding my breath.  It’s all a learning curve.

2016-04-30 15.05.52 I made sure to spray my second vine with the same mixture and hopefully I will have more success with this one. It’s growing on the other side of the garden and hopefully it hasn’t been contaminated by the nasty little creatures that attacked the first vine.

2016-04-30 15.06.29

I love the constantly changing garden as things grow and mature and others are planted.  I planted out the first of my seedlings grown from the Living Seeds I bought.  I also planted a row of beans directly into the soil and they are looking healthy.  There is Swiss Chard, broccoli, tomatoes, carrots, butternut and zucchini doing very nicely and establishing themselves this week.  We had some very heavy rain overnight with a sharp drop in temperature.  I was able to gather enough plastic and glass bottles to cover each seedling before the rain fell so they weren’t drowned by the downpours.  The tanks are full to overflowing and everything is looking very happy.

2016-04-30 15.05.27

I have become very focussed on finding other spaces to plant crops.  Our garden isn’t big and with two dogs that enjoy tearing around I have to be sensitive to their need for some space.  This week I found a source for good sized wooden vegetable garden boxes at a reasonable price.  I have ordered four of them and when they are available I will then have to hire a trailer to collect them.  The beauty of using boxes is that they can be moved during the different seasons, depending on the amount of sun required.

2016-04-30 15.06.50These are some of the recycled pots with some happy herbs growing and I have turnips, carrots and celery growing in bags.  They are looking very healthy and we anticipate some good harvests there.

Our red wrigglers are chomping their way through our kitchen scraps and the compost bin is almost ready to be emptied from the bottom.

Winter is officially upon us.  Our area is on the edge of the winter rainfall part of South Africa.  We do get some summer rain but most of it blows in with each successive cold front and can it blow!  Last night we lit our first fire of the season.  Let’s see what next week brings in Gogo’s Growing garden.

Leave a Reply

